Peters named winner of Williams Award during annual dinner for Transitions of Western Illinois

Peters, Sarah

Transitions executive director Mark Schmitz, left, and Williams Award winner Sarah Peters. | Photo courtesy of Transitions of Western Illinois

QUINCY — Board members, staff, donors and friends of Transitions of Western Illinois gathered Tuesday, Nov. 7 at the Holiday Inn to celebrate the agency’s accomplishments during the past year.

Sarah Peters, a member of the agency’s community support services team, was the recipient of the Williams Award. She has been employed by Transitions for two years.

Transitions annually presents the Williams Award to a staff member who goes above and beyond in the performance of his or her job responsibilities, who quietly does his or her job and whose efforts often go unnoticed. This award is named for Keith Williams, a psychiatrist who served the agency for nearly 30 years.

Mark Schmitz, executive director of Transitions, was the host. During the program, board members and staff of the agency were honored.

Dave Rakers of First Bankers Trust, chair of the Transitions Foundation board, introduced the members of the Foundation Board. Founded in 2002, the foundation provides support to the programs and services of Transitions. Rakers thanked retiring foundation board members Randy McFarland of Mercantile Trust Services and Lee Lindsay. He also introduced the newest members of the Foundation Board, Curt Wavering of Klingner and Associates and Bob Reich.

Matt Kasparie of Brown Electric, chair of the Transitions Association board, introduced members of the board. Kasparie thanked Ryan Schnack of Schnack Law, who is retiring from the board, and welcomed Will Meckes of Schmiedeskamp, Robertson, Neu and Mitchell as a new board member. Bernie Venvertloh of First Bankers Trust was introduced as the chair of the board.

Reich, chair of the Transitions board, introduced the Transitions board and thanked retiring board members Andrew Mays of Mays Law and Mark Hayes of Homebank for their board service. He also introduced new board members Joe Rheinecker of Great Rivers Bank, Chip Owens of Hauk and Owens and Diane Hughes of SIU School of Medicine. Allen Shafer of First Bankers Trust was introduced as the chair of the Transitions board for the 2024 term.

Years of service awards were given to staff who reached milestone anniversaries with the agency.

Recognized for five years of service with Transitions:

  • Danica Trone
  • Sarah Duesterhaus
  • Bob Pivoroff
  • Russ Rohrer
  • Brenda Richards
  • Tad Peters
  • Amanda Paris
  • Michael Descoteaux
  • Sandy Seifert
  • Ashley Holtschlag
  • Dijohn Knuffman
  • Sue Bunch

Recognized for 10 years of service with Transitions:

  • Brenda Peters
  • Jim Holtman
  • Kelle Schlueter

Recognized for 15 years of service:

  • Eric Sprinkle
  • Mick Boyer

Recognized for 20 years of service:

  • Susie Albsmeyer
  • Jeanette Edwards

Recognized for 25 years of service:

  • Mary Greenwell

Recognized for 30 years of service:

  • Mike Rein
  • Tami Cain
  • Jennifer Harvey
  • Karolyn Buss

Recognized for 35 years of service:

  • Linda Mock

Recognized for 40 years of service:

  • Ron Prokof

Transitions of Western Illinois is a not-for-profit mental health and rehabilitation services provider, with offices at 4409 Maine Street and nine other locations in the Quincy area. The agency primarily serves residents of Adams County, with crisis services provided in many of the counties surrounding Adams. The agency was founded in 1955 as the Adams County Mental Health Center. Annually, the agency serves approximately 6,000 area residents.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories