Extreme athletes show off skills at ShredFest in Hannibal

shred 1

Trenton Smashey maneuvers a jump at ShredFest. | Photo courtesy of Hannibal Parks and Recreation

HANNIBAL, Mo. — Hannibal’s ramp park was full of spins, twists and flips Saturday, July 30 as extreme athletes showed off their skills at ShredFest. The competition and exhibition was sponsored by Hannibal Parks and Recreation Department, Coolbyke and Independent’s Service.

Free entry was allowed into the ramp park. Helmets were given to the first 100 children in the park, thanks to financial support from Coolbyke, Evening Kiwanis and Lions Club. Douglass Community Services donated boogie boards for each participant.

Paula Epker, ramp park manager, was happy with the turnout. In a press release, she said, “Everyone had a good time, lots of good competition. These kids wait all year for this event.”

Will Daniel, ramp park employee, was the emcee. Tom and Becky, portrayed by Connor Hudson and Koryn Miller, handed out the prizes.

The results of the contests are as follows:

Scooter Beginner

  • 1st-James Penrod
  • 2nd-Jernin Ainsworth
  • 3rd-Jaedon Morgan
  • 4th-Kashtin Morgan

Scooter Intermediate

  • 1st-Jayce Albright
  • 2nd-Kyler Boling
  • 3rd-Leslie Miller
  • 4th-Will Sutton

Scooter Advanced

  • 1st-Trenton Smashey
  • 2nd-Merrick Crane
  • 3rd-Reece Crane
  • 4th-Joe Elzea

Skateboard Beginner:

  • 1st-Gwyneth McAmeny             

Skateboard Advanced              

  • 1st-Ryan Rayl
  • 2nd-Chase Phillips
  • 3rd-Robert Vanmeter
  • 4th-Alex Holtz

BMX beginner

  • 1st-Tristan Prenger
  • 2nd-Hunter Utterback

BMX intermediate

  • 1st-Joe Elzea
  • 2nd-Michaela Magdich
  • 3rd-Jeremy Prenger

BMX advanced

  • 1st-Trenton Smashey
  • 2nd-Noah Magdich
  • 3rd-Timmy Meyer

Special awards given out to the competitors included the Morgan Miller Award for sportsmanship to Wilson Foster and the Mike Rimi Award for entertainment to Trenton Smashey.

Other awards chosen by ramp park employees and other judges were:

  • Houston We Have a Problem Award: Gage Wilson
  • Sparky Award: Merrick Crane
  • Matrix Award: Joe Elzea and Jayce Albright
  • High Flyer Award: Trenton Smashey
  • To the Moon Award: Cian Keller
  • Bob Ross Award: Reece Crane
  • Lock and Load Award: Ryan Rayl
  • Animal Award: Brayton Slaybaugh
  • In the Zone Award: Alex Holtz
  • Rockstar Award: Leslie Miller
  • Hype Award: Jeremy Prenger

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories