Some float, some sink during eighth annual Cardboard Boat Races at Ronny Ferrel Hannibal Aquatic Center

fastest boat

Winners in the Fastest Boat category at the eighth annual Cardboard Boat Races were Henry Stroot and Tyler Daly of Quincy. | Photos courtesy of the Ronny Ferrel Hannibal Aquatic Center

HANNIBAL, Mo. — There were some spectacular sinkings at the eighth annual Cardboard Boat Races on June 22, so the lifeguards at the Ronny Ferrel Hannibal Aquatic Center had a hard time choosing a Titanic Award winner.

As the cardboard boats didn’t always keep them afloat, aquatic director Emily Hultgren said the lifeguards and staff made sure all the participants stayed safe. The lifeguards also choose the winner in four of the five categories.

The Fastest Boat award went to Henry Stroot, 9, of Quincy, Ill., and Tyler Daly, 9, of Quincy.

The Can’t Believe it’s Cardboard award went to Elliot Sievert, 9, of Quincy and Donovan Spoonmore, 10, of Quincy.

The Best Decorated award went to Grant Sievert, 6, of Quincy, and Connor Hoffman, 6, of Quincy.

The Tom and Becky’s Choice Award went to Jude Meininger, 9, and Beckett Meininger, 11, both of Hannibal.

The Titanic Award went to Matti Harvey, 16, and Beck Harvey, 12, both of Hannibal.

Other boaters that participated were:

  • Nikolai Astorino and Kirklin Hudson of Hannibal
  • Ashton Rozier and Ariah McClarney of Frankford
  • Annalise Jones and Sadie Jones of Hannibal
  • Lane and Rhys Orscheln of Hannibal
  • Blakely Hartman of Hannibal and Madelynn Rickey of New London
  • Caius Quintero and Edward Gulentz of Hannibal
  • Carson Amick and Richard Crane of Hannibal

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories