Fernandez receives Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award from Rotary Club


Carlos Fernandez with United Way Executive Director Jenna Hull. | Submitted photo

QUINCY — The United Way of Adams County, Inc., and the Rotary Club of Quincy honored Carlos Fernandez with the Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award during the Rotary Club’s meeting at the Quincy Holiday Inn on Tuesday, May 21.

Fernandez, Jesus Delgado and Mike McLaughlin were nominated for their impact on the community in the spirit of Bonansinga, whose love of service on behalf of the people of Quincy extended from the riverfront to the airport.

Award criteria includes service leadership by example, energetic and motivating enthusiasm, impactful community service, perseverance and commitment longevity and unselfish devotion and joy in endeavors that benefit the needs of others.

Highlights of Fernandez’s service include serving on numerous civic and charitable organizations — United Way of Adams County, the Quincy Service Club (formerly the Quincy Exchange Club), Quincy Symphony, Quincy Community Theatre, Adams County CEO mentor program and Chaddock, as well as the Advocacy Network for Children. Fernandez also was instrumental in the formation and promotion of the Great River Honor Flight, which recently celebrated 15 years of honoring local veterans.

Thomas J. Ortbal, who along with Chuck Scholz nominated Fernandez, said in a press release, “Carlos has been defined by community service since his arrival in Quincy in 2007 in conjunction with his appointment as vice president and general manager at WGEM, the same positions previously held by Joe Bonansinga.”

The award was established in 1998 by United Way of Adams County and Rotary to recognize those who exemplify the highest standards of community service. The award is named for the first recipient who is more commonly known as “Mr. Quincy.”

A panel of individuals representing former award winners, United Way Board members, Rotary Club members and previous award recipients evaluated the nominations.

Past recipients of the Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award are:

  • 1998-Joe Bonansinga “Mr. Quincy”
  • 1999-Harry and Carlene Geisler
  • 2000-Carla Gosney
  • 2001-Rocky and Rhonda Murry
  • 2002-Rev. Tim White
  • 2003-Tony and Signe Oakley
  • 2004-Carolyn and Steve Hagood
  • 2005-Chuck Scholz
  • 2006-Hermann Schneidman
  • 2007-Darrell Peacher
  • 2008-H.W. Knapheide
  • 2009-Lee Lindsay Curtis
  • 2010-Kathy Ridder
  • 2011-George Meyer
  • 2012-Terry Myers
  • 2013-Becky Albert
  • 2014-Michael Klingner
  • 2015-Brad Billings
  • 2016-Paul Brown
  • 2017-Jeff Spear
  • 2018-Mike Elbe
  • 2019-Charles C. Doan
  • 2020-Phil Conover
  • 2021-Joe Henning
  • 2022-Laura Sievert
  • 2023-Jeff Steinkamp and Cheryl and Dennis Williams

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories