Quincy Service Club looking for nominations for 72nd annual Golden Deeds Award

Quincy Service Club logo

QUINCY — The Quincy Service Club is giving people an opportunity to recognize someone who has been a selfless volunteer or has worked tirelessly on behalf of the community.

The club will present its 72nd annual Golden Deeds award during a luncheon in May at the Elks Club. The club is accepting nominations through March 18.

The Book of Golden Deeds is the most distinguished award the Service Club presents each year. Last year’s recipient was Jim Heckenkamp, 89, who delivers Meals on Wheels, sings in the choir at Blessed Sacrament Church, donates blood routinely, volunteered as as a CYO coach, managed bingo night on Sundays at quincy Notre Dame and helped with the Quincy Notre Dame Parish Commitment Sunday program for more than 40 years.

Past recipients have made a positive impact in various ways on the lives of many people in Quincy. The award is called the Book of Golden Deeds because letters, written on behalf of the recipient by those who have firsthand knowledge of their efforts, are placed in a book and forever documented.

Nominees may be anyone who has made Quincy a better place to work and live. They may be the individuals who lead a worthy cause, or they may quietly go about their volunteer efforts behind the scenes.

Nominations may be made by letter sent to Golden Deeds Award, P.O. Box 1163, Quincy, IL 62306, or by email to Cullan Duke at dcd@klingner.com. Include your name and the name of the nominee along with the deed or deeds on which the nomination is based. Visit the Service Club’s website for an online form.

Past Golden Deeds recipients

YearQuincy’s Book of Golden Deeds Honorees
2022-23Jim Heckenkamp
2021-22Chuck Scholz
2020-21Adams County Healthcare Professionals
2019-20Harold Mast
2018-19Kirk Frageman
2017-18Pat & Kevin Steinkamp
2016-17Margaret “Marg” Andrews
2015-16Jack Mackenzie
2014-15Phil Conover
2013-14Patty Adam
2012-13JoAnn Witte
2011-12Hazel Mills
2010-11Tom Behrens
2009-10Phyllis Smith
2008-09Kevin Curran
2007-08Jerry Mast
2006-07Ada Himes
2005-06Bill Hageman
2004-05Herb Wellman
2003-04Randy McFarland
2002-03Linda Dillman
2001-02Betty Wiewel
2000-01Melvin Koch
1999-00Harold Phillips
1998-99Raymond Hinkamper
1997-98Carl Landrum
1996-97Russell Hess Sr.
1995-96Thomas Gott
1994-95Isabelle & Bernie Willer
1993-94Roger Mohrman
1992-93Arlene Foley
1991-92Martha Muegge
1990-91Thomas Awerkamp
1989-90Marjorie Hudson
1988-89Wilhelmina (Billie) Brod
1987-88Donald Heckenkamp
1986-87Joanne Ortwerth
1985-86George Parsons
1984-85Marie Sloan
1983-84Mary Ann Gullen
1982-83Carlene Geisler
1981-82Minnie Schlinkman
1980-81Doris Penington
1979-80Mrs. John French
1978-79Betty Pracht
1977-78Kathleen Peters-Druffel
1976-77R.S. Brackman
1975-76Ethel Fletcher
1974-75Joe Bonansinga
1973-74Ruth Logan
1972-73Generivieve Klingele
1971-72Howard Wear
1970-71Ralph Meyers
1969-70Edward Altmix
1968-69Thomas Oakley
1967-68Helen Smith
1966-67Irma Jones
1965-66George Durst Sr
1964-65Deloris Hase
1963-64Ralph “Doc” Wiegmann
1962-63Mary McAllister
1961-62Dr. Harold Swanberg
1960-61Helen Jarrett
1959-60James Primrose
1958-59C.H. Swinehart
1957-58Fabiola Moorman
1956-57Lawrence Steinkamp
1955-56John Inghram Sr.
1954-55Eugene Kirkpatrick
1953-54Mabel Ahern
1952-53Harry Lov

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories