Seven recognized as Heritage Award recipients for 2020, 2021 by Quincy University

QUINCY – Quincy University will honor its 2020 and 2021 Heritage Award recipients at an alumni dinner at 6 p.m. Saturday in the Hall of Fame Room during Homecoming Weekend. Tickets for the dinner are $25 apiece. The Heritage Awards are the highest honor bestowed by Quincy University upon outstanding alumna or alumnus.

QU has presented the Bill O’Donnell Distinguished Alumni of the Year Award for the past 50 years to alumni who have enhanced the reputation of the school through their outstanding professional achievement, personal accomplishments and loyal service to their alma mater. Dr. William Dolan, class of 1970, is the 2020 recipient. Alan Knepler and Lucinda Awerkamp McClain, both from the class of 1971, are the 2021 recipients.

Dolan spent 15 years with Esperanca as a medical missionary. He left the Franciscans in 1986 but continued serving as a missionary until 1994, when he came back to work at the Phoenix (Va.) Medical Center. He joined the U.S. Army Reserves in 1992 and the Navy Reserves in 2000. He later joined the faculty of the University of Arizona College of Medicine, where he currently teaches today.

Knepler was a physical education teacher and coached boys soccer at Quincy Notre Dame from 1976 to 1986 before he went on to coach and teach for 23 years at Glenbrook North High School in Carol Stream.

McClain taught history and English after college. She later practiced law with a focus on social security, disability, estate planning and adoptions. In addition to her countless hours of community service to various organizations in the Quincy community, she has served her alma mater as a trustee and chair of the board, a scholarship representative and a student mentor.

The Franciscan Service Award is given to alumni who have made significant contributions to their community, state, and nation through professional service, public service and civic activities. The recipients of this award inspire and encourage others through their example and leadership. Paul Brown, class of 65, is the 2020 recipient, and Father Frank Kordek, class of 1968, is the 2021 recipient.

The Rising Hawk Award is given to alumni under the age of 40 who demonstrate success early in their career and is active in the life of the university or the life of their community. Brady Killion, class of 2013, is the 2020 recipient and Megan Greer, class of 2020, is the 2021 recipient.

For more information, please contact Alumni Services at 217-228-5209 or

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories