Grootens, Niekamp and Cory sworn in; Grootens names chief deputies


Former sheriff Robert Nall pins the sheriff's badge on Tony Grootens. County Clerk and Recorder Ryan Niekamp and Treasurer F. Bryden Cory were also sworn in Thursday morning. — J. Robert Gough

QUINCY — Adams County office holders elected on Nov. 8 were sworn in Thursday morning at the Adams County Courthouse.

Ryan Niekamp, a Republican, was re-elected to his first full term in office as county clerk and recorder. He defeated Democrat Arianna Downard-Salih in the general election.

Recorder F. Bryden Cory, also a Republican, was re-elected as treasurer. He ran unopposed.

Also running unopposed was Republican Tony Grootens as sheriff. Grootens, following his swearing in, announced his two chief deputies: Patrick Frazier as chief deputy of operations and H. Blue Richards as chief deputy of administration.

Frazier spent 26 years with the Illinois State Police, with a primary focus on the West Central Illinois Drug Task Force. Richards has more than 30 years of experience in law enforcement, including with the Drug Enforcement Administration in Texas, where Grootens once worked for him.

The newly-elected members of the Adams County Board will be sworn in Monday evening at 6 p.m.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Muddy River TV+

Current Weather

Trending Stories