Quintero, Holzgrafe roll to women’s championship at Quincy City Doubles Tournament

Quincy Tennis Association

QUINCY — Theresa Quintero and Heidi Holzgrafe didn’t lose a set on their way to winning the top women’s division of the Quincy City Doubles Tournament on Saturday.

Quintero and Holzgrafe drew a first-round bye, then defeated Shelley Arns and Jenny Hill 6-1, 6-2 in the semifinals. They defeated Lia Quintero, Theresa’s daughter, and Jamie Steinkamp 6-4, 6-2 in the championship match.

Maura Gottman and Katy Rindom won the consolation title, defeating Emma Staff and Cathy Staff 6-1, 6-2.

The top seeds in the top men’s division rolled into the title match.

Ethan Arns and Zach Willing, the top seeds and defending champions, defeated Greysen Arns and John Aubuchon 6-0, 6-0, then beat David LaFevers and Michael Lesko 6-1, 6-2 in the semifinals.

Arns and Willing will face Aaron Forsberg and Ryan Schnack, the second seeds, in Sunday’s final. Forsberg and Schnack defeated Jaydon Nguyen and Preston Trinh 6-0, 6-0, and then topped Dave Santos and Todd Willing 6-3, 6-1 in the semifinals.

Arns and Aubuchon will play for the consolation title. They defeated William Hanlin and Allen Oakley 6-0, 6-0. Also in the consolation title match are Drew Figge and Caleb Vonderheide, who defeated Nguyen and Trinh 6-1, 6-1.

Surya Reddy and Anika Reddy won the junior under-14 division, defeating Fawaaz Khan and Zane Lomax 7-6, 6-4 and Jimmy Derian and Issa Geisendorfer 6-1, 6-0.

Alex Hamby and Arrianna Trinh won the junior under-12 division, defeating Patrick Morgan and Isaac Steinkamp 7-5, 6-2 and Austin Mondon and Christopher Tu 7-5, 6-4.

Tim Taylor and Tom Taylor will play Gerry Korb and Mike O’Neal for the legends division championship. The Taylors defeated Stan McKelvie and John Baird 6-2, 3-6, 6-2. Korb and O’Neal defeated William Hyde and John Nelson 6-0, 6-0. McKelvie and Baird won the consolation title, defeating Hyde and Nelson 6-1, 6-1.

Mile Peterson and Michael Wood will meet Gerry Korb and Ethan Stark in the men’s 3.5 division final. Korb and Stark defeated Rowen Brunner and Kael Holzgrafe 7-6, 6-0, and Peterson and Wood defeated Ian Paxton and Surya Reddy 6-1, 6-1. Brunner and Holzgrafe defeated Paxton and Reddy 6-4, 6-2 to win the consolation title.

Barney Bier and Pat Costigan won twice to reach the men’s 4.0 finals, defeating Dylon Hoewing and Gavin Hoener 6-2, 6-1 and Martin McCarthy and Ben Klingner 6-1, 6-2. Bier and Costigan will face Rick Crider and Josh Vahle, who defeated Jason Derian and Jim Pitney 6-2, 6-2, and Scott Koontz and Matthew Koontz 7-6. 5-7, 11-9. 

Haner and Hoewing will face Drew Koester and Joe Laws in the consolation title match.

Lily Hayes and Phoebe Hayes won the women’s 3.5 division, defeating Audra Cain and Amelia Willing 6-4, 6-2. Hayes and Hayes defeated Paige Beckler and Irelan Lomax 6-4, 6-3 in the semifinals. Cain and Willing defeated Jaynee Durst and Molly Gottman 6-4, 6-4 in the semifinals.

Emily Klinner and Julie Leenerts defeated Falaq Khan and Anika Reddy 6-3, 6-2 to win the consolation title.

All matches on Sunday will start at 10:30 a.m.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories