Niekamp wins lone contested race in Adams County, GOP controls 20 of 21 County Board seats


QUINCY — Ryan Niekamp defeated Democrat Arianna Downard-Salih for the second time to remain as Adams County Clerk and Recorder.

Niekamp garnered nearly 84 percent of the vote Tuesday in Adams County’s only contested countywide race. Voter turnout was at 58 percent in the county.

Treasurer Bryden Cory won re-election in his uncontested race and Tony Grootens will be Adams County’s next sheriff. Both men are Republicans and Democrats failed to field a candidate for either race.

In two contested Pike County, Ill. races, the Republican incumbents also won as Natalie Roseberry was re-elected as county clerk and Scott Syrcle was re-elected as treasurer. David Greenwood was unopposed in the sheriff’s race and Cindy Shaw was unopposed in her bid for supervisor of assessments.

Democrats also saw their numbers on the Adams County Board dwindle as the Republicans now hold 20 of 21 seats. Todd Duesterhaus won re-election in District 1 and now is the lone Democrat on the County Board as Steve DeMoss was defeated in District 1.

The other Democrat on the board, Matt Obert, opted not to run again.

Republican Bret Austin was re-elected in District 1 and fellow Republican Keith Callaway won his first term on the County Board.

Republicans Ryan Hinkamper and Barb Fletcher won re-election in District 2 while Republican Mark Sorensen, who had been appointed to his seat, won his first election bid.

Dave Bellis and Marvin Kerkhoff both won re-election in District 3 while Mark Dietrich was elected to his first term. All three men are Republicans.

Adams County Board Chairman Kent Snider won re-election in District 4 along with fellow Republican Travis Cooley while Republican Steve McQueen won his first term to the County Board in that district.

Robert Reich is the lone incumbent to return in District 5 as two newcomers, Jon McCoy and Tim Finlay both won their first seats. All three men are Republicans.

Republicans Les Post and David McCleary won re-election in District 6 while Republican Brad Poulter won his first term to the board in that district.

Republicans Joe Zanger and Teresa Bockhold both won re-election in District 7 while former Democratic Adams County Sheriff Brent Fischer won his first term to the County Board in that district, running as a Republican.

All newly elected county office holders will be sworn in on December 1.

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Muddy River TV+

Current Weather

Trending Stories