Rotary Club honors three with 26th annual Bonansinga Community Service Awards

Bonansinga award winners

From left are Joe Bonansinga Award winners Dennis and Cheryl Williams and Cindy Steinkamp, the widow of honoree Jeff Steinkamp. They were recognized during a Tuesday luncheon at the Holiday Inn. | Photo courtesy of Rotary Club

QUINCY – United Way of Adams County, Inc., and the Rotary Club of Quincy honored Jeff Steinkamp and Cheryl and Dennis Williams with the 26th annual Joe Bonansinga Community Service Awards on Tuesday, May 9 at the Rotary Club’s meeting at the Holiday Inn, 4821 Oak.  

The Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award was established in 1998 by United Way of Adams County and Rotary to recognize those who exemplify the highest standards of community service. 

The award is named for the first recipient, Joe Bonansinga, known as “Mr. Quincy.”  A panel of individuals representing former award winners, United Way Board members, Rotary Club members and previous award recipients evaluated the nominations.Steinkamp and the Williamses were selected from eight nominees for their impact on the community in the spirit of Bonansinga, whose love of service on behalf of the people of Quincy extended from the riverfront to the airport. 

Award criteria includes service leadership by example, energetic and motivating enthusiasm, impactful community service, perseverance and commitment longevity, and unselfish devotion and joy in endeavors that benefit the needs of others.

Among the highlights of Steinkamp’s service are:

  • Addicts Victorious Ministries.
  • Bereaved Parents of USA.
  • Quincy Cursillo.
  • Quincy Park Board commissioner.
  • Quincy Plan Commission member.
  • Quincy Riverfront Development Corporation.
  • Quincy Aeronautics Committee.
  • National Society of Professional Engineers.
  • United States Parachute Association.

Steinkamp died Dec. 17, 2022. His widow, Cindy Steinkamp, accepted his award on Tuesday.

Among the highlights of the Williams’ service are:

  • Founders and directors of Bella Ease.
  • Quincy Teen Reach.
  • Quincy Human Rights Commission members.
  • Teen Support Group.
  • Quincy Public School District 21st Century Grant Committee members.

“Jeff’s community service impact and his efforts to benefit others was inspiring for everyone who knew him,” Nancy Bluhm, executive director of United Way of Adams County, said in a press release. “Dennis and Cheryl demonstrate a continuing and significant commitment to persevere on behalf of all the residents in our community.  Both award recipients demonstrate community building and leadership at the Joe Bonansinga level.”

Past recipients of the Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award are:

  • 1998: Joe Bonansinga “Mr. Quincy”
  • 1999: Harry and Carlene Geisler
  • 2000: Carla Gosney 
  • 2001: Rocky and Rhonda Murry
  • 2002: Rev. Tim White
  • 2003: Tony and Signe Oakley
  • 2004: Carolyn and Steve Hagood
  • 2005: Chuck Scholz 
  • 2006: Hermann Schneidmann
  • 2007: Darrell Peacher
  • 2008: H.W. Knapheide 
  • 2009: Lee Lindsay Curtis
  • 2010: Kathy Ridder
  • 2011: Dr. George Meyer
  • 2012: Terry Myers
  • 2013: Becky Albert
  • 2014: Michael Klingner
  • 2015: Brad Billings
  • 2016: Paul Brown
  • 2017: Jeff Spear
  • 2018: Mike Elbe
  • 2019: Charles C. Doan
  • 2020: Phil Conover
  • 2021: Joe Henning
  • 2022: Laura Sievert

Miss Clipping Out Stories to Save for Later?

Click the Purchase Story button below to order a print of this story. We will print it for you on matte photo paper to keep forever.

Current Weather


Trending Stories